Taco Salad

I wasn’t a huge lover of cafeteria school lunches in school, but I do remember taco salad day.  There was a big bowl, sometimes made of a crunchy shell, and the taco meat was addicting.  Apparently I was eating pink slime smothered in taco seasoning, but I was not aware of this at age 10, and I thought is was magnificent.

I’ve held on to my love for taco salad throughout the years, whether it was at Owens at Virginia Tech, when I was trying to be healthy at a Mexican restaurant, or in my own kitchen as a side to my guacamole.

And so I’d like to share my taco salad recipe.

The secret is making homemade taco shells so that every bite can have a crunchy sensation if you so desire.  And an easy way to do so, is by molding a large taco tortilla into the backside of a large muffin pan.

Bake it at 400 for 5-10 minutes or until firm, and golden.

And then just fill with goodies!

Brown taco meat and add taco seasoning according to package instructions.

Cut up red onion, jalapeno if you fancy a kick, lettuce, avocado, and cheese.

And make a cilantro lime dressing to finish it off.

Cilantro Lime Dressing

3 T dried cilantro
3/4 c ranch dressing
1 lime, juiced

Mix all ingredients and add to salad

I assembled my salad as such.

In shell:

1. Lettuce
2. Dressing
3. Meat
4. Tomatoes, Onion, Jalapeno, Avocado, Cheese

Can I get a margarita?

Leave a Reply

