(Easy) Corn on the Cob

Summer means warm days, long nights, fresh food, and tasty cocktails. Summer means guacamole, homemade salsas, potlucks, and star-filled nights on the patio. Summer means backyard campfires, s’mores, and lingering conversations. Summer is bliss, and it’s my fave.

I adore summer not only for all of the above, but for the fresh produce that lines the farmers markets, and even the local (good) grocery stores. One of my summer pleasures is fresh, sweet corn. So, when I saw it last week, I said no to my inner-self who said April was too early a month for the corn to be good, and bought 4 ears.

Tonight I made a honey-glazed salmon with a mango cilantro relish and wanted a fresh accompaniment. Out came the corn, but with the salmon being almost done, I didn’t want to go to the grill.

So I went to the microwave.

4 minutes later, out came this delicious, string free, corn.

It’s not as good as in-season corn, but it was tasty, and I’ll be turning to my microwave again next time I’m in a time pinch.

Easy Corn on the Cob

Put ears on corn in the microwave, on a damp paper towel.

For two ears, I put in for about 4 1/2 minutes.

Hit Start (and ignore the much-needed manicure).

Flip them halfway through cooking.

Then, remove and once cool enough to handle, cut one edge and slide out the corn.

And then, they look like this.

And, you’re done.

One thought on “(Easy) Corn on the Cob

  1. Pingback: Honey Glazed Salmon with Mango Cilantro Relish | theburbswife

Leave a Reply

