Staying fit in Surburbia

Staying fit in suburbia – it’s simple, really.  You can jog with your dog, or your stroller, while ooo-ing and ahh-ing over your neighbors’ landscaping, you can do crossfit in your family room, you can join a gym, or you can join one of the many pay-as-you-go boutique studios that are popping up all over the country.  All of the above for me, please (I like to mix it up and keep my body guessing).

This morning it was Saturday Spin at the boutique studio I fancy.  There is no membership, you just prepay a stack of classes and use them up, then buy more if you want to take more classes, etc.  The clientele?  Mostly upper class housewives, lots of (nicely done might I say) enhancements.  Our spin teacher is awesome.  She pushes me to the point that I feel my inner thighs working.  Is that even possible?  When we’re in there for 55 minutes it’s all work – lights off, push hard.  But when you leave, covered in sweat, stains of wetness all over your shirt, and hair pasted on the side of your face, you feel accomplished, ready to tackle the weekend.  Some of these people stay for another hour of TRX – crazy!

Time to spend a Saturday recovering from my beating.  Where’s the chocolate?

Photo found on http://beautysweetspot.com/

Leave a Reply

