Winter Warmerland?

This beautiful weather in DC has me missing when I thought 60 degrees was cold, when I called Miami home, and when I talked like this.  Okay, maybe not that bad, but I got a kick out of that link when I saw it floating across the web yesterday.

My husband and I lived in Miami for four years in our mid-twenties.  What a fabulous place to live when you don’t have any real responsibilities yet.  We are fond of that city, the city where we explored, made our own.  Where our favorite restaurants, shops, and streets are.  I think there is a city like that for everyone, right?  A city that stays close to one’s heart, where a true affection and attachment lies.

We miss it, but also cherish the DC area, where our family and many of our friends reside.  This is our home, and we love it, but usually the winters are our least-favorite time of year.  This winter has been unseasonably warm, and I keep thinking I’m going to wake up one day and it’ll be freezing, but it hasn’t happened yet, really, and it’s almost February.  Hoping the groundhog doesn’t see his shadow and warm weather will continue into a beautiful spring and summer.  A little bit of Miami in this cold climate, yes, please!

One thought on “Winter Warmerland?

  1. Pingback: Mid-winter escape | theburbswife

Leave a Reply

